IMG_4885
20200620_180937 (2)20200620_18102120200620_181146 (2)IMG_4884

Bertie’s Tutoring Service

Added by Berties Tutoring Service

0 reviews

Listed in Schools & Learning, Tutoring

Follow:

Contact Listing Owner

Contact the Listing Owner

To inquire about this listing, complete the form below to send a message to the listing owner.


Initially I am just going to offer Mathematics for years 7 to 11.

After the initial start up phase I will offer Biology, Chemistry and Physics to GCSE, and I will also offer my services to years 5 and 6, but my expertise lies with older individuals who have lost confidence.

My plan after social distancing is to offer crash courses prior to exams.
Adaptations During Social Distancing
A series of adaptations have been made to my normal approach to tutoring utilising my science knowledge and ICT skills to allow social distancing.

There is over a 2m distance between the tutees area and my own. The tutees area will be cleaned between each tutee, both the chair and table covering are able to be cleaned. The main door and the entrance to the workshop will be open to allow air to circulate. The tutee will be able to see what I write on a white board and work that can be printed, the tutee just picks up the paper from the printer. I will provide equipment that has not been used for over 72 hours including calculators. I will use hand sanitiser before I move equipment into place. The tutee will be encouraged to sanitise hands on entering. I can also provide soap and water if prefered. My phone will act as a camera so I can see what the pupil is writing without having to approach them. This has been enabled by using mirroring technology and a phone, (undergoing trials at present). It will be expected that all work is taken away with the pupil.

I thought a bit of back ground information could come in handy about me. Firstly my name is Helen Carter I am using part of my other business’s name to show that the businesses are linked.

I have taught a mixture of Science and Maths for over 20 years.

I gained my PGCE from Kings College London in Biology with Science.

Initially I taught in a London Comphrensive School moving to a school more local to me when the journey was very tough one winter. I taught at a school local to Maldon and Chelmsford (where I live) for over 15 years.

It is whilst I was teaching at the local school I switched from teaching the sciences to my passion which is Maths. Whilst I taught the sciences at different points I taught AS Biology and A Level Physics.

I left teaching in June 2018 to focus on my online business. My business also trades from the premises I am going to be tutoring from. The rest of week I work from Chelmsford and I focus on the online aspects of the bead business. Before lockdown on the other days I was going to peoples houses to tutor.

Whilst my business was expanding to have extra support I started to tutor to raise the funds and found that I was really enjoying teaching again and that more importantly I could see my tutees confidence and expertise grew by the week. So I decided to run both business at the same time. Which isn’t too different from the years when I worked part time as a teacher and set up the online business.

Sharing is caring!

Add Your Review

Please login or register to add your review.

Vantage Theme – Powered by WordPress.
Skip to toolbar